Standard Chartered Bank Employee Reviews

Found 49 reviews matching the search See all 2,623 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work/Life balance, drives employee development and growth, client focused.
Compliance Associate (Current Employee) –  Lagos, NigeriaOctober 14, 2019
The Organization is a great place to work. Culture of good conduct is promoted amongst both staff and customers, ensuring operation with all level of honesty, transparency and integrity. The bank strives to build trust with its employees, clients, communities, regulators, investors etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
AML, CDD AND KYC COMPLIANCE SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  LagosSeptember 18, 2019
Working with a global brand has helped to enhance my adaptability to various culture which is now a core strength to work with diverse people and race.

The job security and the work life balance is something of emulation for local competitors.
Pros
Gym room and work remotely
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enabling work place and a human bank
Branch Sales and Service Manager (Former Employee) –  NigeriaJune 29, 2019
Working in Standard Chartered Bank was a beautiful experience for me. The belief in work/life balance, respecting people and their diverse culture (diversity and inclusion culture),being courageous and giving a voice to every employee are some life experiences I imbibed and which will always be a part of me.

They were lot of online and classroom trainings that helped my job function and interpersonal relationship with my colleagues, clients and my stakeholders.

I loved working with Standard Chartered Bank
Pros
Enabling work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Manager, Shared Investigative Services (Former Employee) –  Lagos, NigeriaMarch 23, 2019
Work life balance is top notch. I did every moment I spent as a staff of the organisation.

The Bank has flexible work hours and a great support for women.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and competitive environment
BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Lagos, NigeriaJanuary 23, 2019
Lots of training and personal development offered by the bank. A chance to meet great people that inspire you as well as become lifetime friends. Healthy competition encouraged, and performance is always rewarded and celebrated.
Pros
Good bonus structure for sales team
Cons
Distracting habit of changing staff location frequently
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Branch Sales and Service Executive (Current Employee) –  Abuja, NigeriaJanuary 4, 2019
great work culture and well organised to meet future competition.
i have grown through the years and handled different roles.
the people i have worked with have been awesome in heloing me grow so much in experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place for work-life balance
Principal & Head of Sales, Transaction Banking (Current Employee) –  LagosJanuary 2, 2019
Work-life balance is highly encouraged with many avenues for staff to experience same across the bank irrespective of location.
Work culture and ethics are of extremely high levels - with strong values and brands that are reinforced in your daily activities in the bank
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning Environment
Branch Operations & Serv. Mgr (Current Employee) –  ABUJADecember 29, 2018
Standard Chartered affords employee vast modules of compulsory e-learnings that cut across various topics in the financial management and excellence. excellent Global practice with common standards at all sales and operating units.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Tax Specialist (Former Employee) –  LagosDecember 20, 2018
It helped develop my career and gave me great international experience. The job mobility within the structure is amazing.

I will recommend the bank to anyone who wants to start out his/her career within the financial sector.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educative and ideal place to be grounded in business and operational ethics.
Branch Operations & service Manager (Former Employee) –  Lagos, NGDecember 17, 2018
The bank is well grounded in establishing businesses in emerging economies mostly based in Africa, Asia and Middle East.
The bank also has moderate business risk appetite and also aligns its process with the regulation of every country they establish business.
It’s a good place for an individual To work to learn ideal business processes and ethics.
The bank also believes in migration of day-to-day business functions to the digital platform which is the new worldwide drive.
They also equip their staff in all required training for smooth running of their operations in all their markets and while transitioning from one job function to another.
Pros
Good health insurance policy, enagage in community development and CSR activities
Cons
Work life balance, multiple job functions on a single staff, remuneration not in alignment with the market in general.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Branch Sales & Service Manager (Former Employee) –  LagosNovember 18, 2018
Not perfect but a lot of positives. They are a principled company offering advancement, opportunities and varied experiences across their numerous offices globally.

Great work life balance.
Pros
Great work life balance, fun and opportunities to move around
Cons
Pay isn't great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but fun place to work
Branch Sales and Service Executive (Current Employee) –  Abuja, NigeriaNovember 7, 2018
Standard Chartered Bank is truly International, Courageous, Trustworthy and Creative.
The bank tries as much as possible to inculcate its values of doing the right thing, better together and never settling among its staff.
The management structure is quite dynamic (can be good and bad).
Pros
Free Health Care
Cons
Weekend Trainings/Workshop
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is very nice working on the organization
Driving (Former Employee) –  LagosSeptember 1, 2018
Working with standard chartered bank is very good, and there are many advantages when working there. It's a well discipline organization that doesn't give chance for corruption.
Pros
No lunch
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just ok
Investment Advisor (Former Employee) –  KTMay 26, 2018
good work life balance but bad reward system, management only wants someone who are good at shoe-shine skills
Pros
work life balance
Cons
shoe-shine culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company
IT Technician (Former Employee) –  Lagos, NigeriaApril 4, 2018
Very enjoyable, I had a lot of experience doing the job. Very motivational employees who wanted to see you do well and grow within the company. Had a very great time there!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Project Manager- New Business Development (Former Employee) –  LagosFebruary 26, 2018
They are so far the best company I have ever worked for!
Great pay, lots of perks work hard play hard !

Room for new opportunity, growth etc

Supportive knowledgeable management, honestly a real career
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creativity and Learning
Branch Sales and Service Executive (Former Employee) –  NigeriaFebruary 11, 2018
A typical day at work is quite engaging and learning process. I enjoyed the pleasure of meeting different clients, profiling these clients, having some need-based conversations, with a common goal of delivering the banks promises which by default result to a win win situation for the bank and for the client.
Pros
Diversity and inclusion, world class experience and great work life balance
Cons
Low salary especially for those who started their banking career with the organization, in most instances you get better reward if you leave and return or you join from another institution
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Direct Sales Representative and later Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lagos StateJanuary 23, 2018
Standard Chartered brought out the salesman in me. I was able to sit down with managers and executives of blue chip companies and convince them to buy into the wealth management solutions of the bank. It was exciting getting them to sign cheques.
Pros
The brand opened doors
Cons
Not enough branches ( this has improved)
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Head, Employee Banking (Former Employee) –  Lagos StateOctober 28, 2017
Standard Chartered Nigeria is a fully own subsidiary of Standard Chartered UK. I worked in Standard Chartered for over 8years and have never regreted it. The managment team is excellent. Standard Chartered work ethics is top notch with focus on CSR. The most enjoyable part of my Job is meeting new clients and the senior managemnt team from the group office
Pros
Fantastice work enviroment
Cons
Salary is not competitive with the market
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great Place to work at
Business Development Executive (Former Employee) –  LagosSeptember 14, 2017
its a great place to be at

got good team and great team leader that i worked with

the hardest part of the job is not been motivated by the financial pay
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
the salary is not that beneficiary
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Standard Chartered Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 2,623 reviews
51.1K
4996
3461
276
139

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture

Standard Chartered Bank Reviews by Location